Library

a-new-york-secret

A New York Secret

A heartbreaking and unforgettable World War 2 historical novel

War forces to her choose a side…

1942, New York. As war rages in Europe, Lily Rose is grateful for her perfect life: a wealthy family who love her and a dream job working uptown as a restaurant chef. Times are changing for women and Lily is determined to run her own kitchen one day. She hopes handsome Tom Morelli, son of Sicilian immigrants, will be at her side. Together they work late, dreaming up delicious meals for New Yorkers struggling with wartime rationing and the threat of sons and sweethearts being called up…

Then Tom receives a devastating telegram that changes everything: he is drafted to fight in Italy.

Suddenly alone, Lily turns to her parents for support. But when her mother finds out about Tom, she is furious. When the war ends, Lily’s duty is to marry the man picked for her, keep house and raise children. They give her a heartbreaking ultimatum: end her relationship with Tom or lose her family and inheritance forever.

In the middle of the war, Lily is left in an impossible position. Will she choose to stay with her family and live the safe life she has always known, or will she follow her heart and her dreams?

An emotional and utterly unputdownable novel, inspired by true events, about the courage, love and friendships that will see you through war and tragedy. Fans of Fiona Davis, Rhys Bowen and The Nightingale will be captivated.

Reviews / Testimonials

I wish I could give this beautiful book more stars! It is absolutely a Five Star Gold book! It is so well written and historical fiction at its finest!

Goodreads Reviewer

Ripped my heart right out of my chest and made me cry so much… My heart ached… Incredible.

The Book Lover’s Boudoir

Wonderful! Wonderful!!!! I absolutely fell in love with this book!!!!!

Goodreads Reviewer

Ohhhhh this book… I love this book… I was crying like a baby. That darn plot twist. I WASN’T READY OKAY?

Goodreads Reviewer

WOW… Just wow… I absolutely love this story and these characters… This story is filled with everything from romance to mystery.

Goodreads Reviewer

Sign up to receive newsletters