Library

the_house_by_the_lake

The House by the Lake

Anna is content with her well-ordered life in San Francisco. But her world is turned upside down when her beloved grandfather, Max, reveals a startling secret: Anna is part of an aristocratic family who lost everything during World War II. What’s more, Max was forced to leave behind a precious item over seventy years ago in their estate in old Prussia. It’s now his ardent wish that Anna retrieve it.

Anna burns with questions as she heads for Germany: What memento could be so important to her grandfather? And why did he keep their history hidden? As she searches for answers, she finds herself drawn to Wil, a man who may hold the key to unlock the mystery. Together they discover that her family’s secrets are linked with an abandoned apartment in Paris, and these secrets go deeper than she ever imagined.

Alternating between 1930s Europe and the present, The House by the Lake illuminates the destiny of a family caught in the tumult of history.

Reviews / Testimonials

I don't even know where to start this review, except to say that I wish it was possible to give it 10 out of 5 stars! Perfect for fans of "Sarah's Key" by Tatiana De Rosnay, this compelling and beautifully written book alternates between the present day life of Anna and vignettes of Europe on the cusp of World War II. Honestly, I had a really hard time putting this book down to do other things. Ella Carey does a fantastic job at recreating what life would have been like in Germany and Paris during Hitler's rise to power, and the reader can't help but become emotionally invested in the life that Anna's grandpa, Max, lived during that time. Check this out today- I truly don't think that you'll regret it!

Jessica Batten, Batten 1000

The House by the Lake is storytelling at its best: unique, riveting, well-written with heartbreaking romance at the very center… this is the perfect book to curl up with on a rainy day when you’re all alone at home. The raw, intense emotions, the vividly descriptive scenes scuttling between modern day and the life-changing era of WWII…this is a story so passionate, so moving it will stir your heart with its profoundness. This is a book set in Paris and Germany, where part is true and the other fictional but I must commend Ms. Carey on doing her homework with researching vital facts. As a reader I was taken back in time to places I’ve never visited, to an era I’ve never known yet Ms. Carey’s vivid prose did not make me feel as if I were an outsider. Overall, a great historical story written by an amazing author!

Amanda Shivrattan, Amanda Writes

Sign up to receive newsletters

Please leave this field empty.