Library

the-girl-from-paris

The Girl From Paris

Paris, 1918. The end of war is in sight, and young seamstress Vianne Pascal is longing for the day when she can stop sewing military uniforms and start creating the beautiful dresses that she has been dreaming up in her head.

But just when it seems like peace is within reach, Vianne’s mother and sister are killed in a terrible air raid. To make matters worse, Vianne’s brother has returned home a changed man. Controlling and cruel, he presents Vianne with an ultimatum; give up her dreams of becoming a designer, or be forced onto the streets, penniless and alone.

With nothing left for her in Paris but sad memories, she decides to sail for New York. Determined not to look back, she throws herself into her new life—spending her days sewing dresses for wealthy Upper East Side women, and her evenings dancing the Charleston to Duke Ellington in the new downtown clubs. When Vianne meets handsome Italian Giorgio Conti, he encourages her career, and she feels safe for the first time since she lost her family.

Then news of a terrible accident compels Vianne to suddenly return to France, where she discovers proof of a wartime secret that changes everything she thought she knew about her family. Facing the threat of sickness and ruin, the people who forced Vianne out of her home now suddenly need her help.

Will Vianne find the courage to follow her heart, return to New York and her life with Giorgio? Or will duty bind her to the family she had left behind and force her to remain in France?

From Amazon Charts bestseller Ella Carey comes an utterly gripping and emotional historical wartime novel about the terrible choices people made during humanity’s darkest days. Fans of Fiona Valpy, Rhys Bowen and The Nightingale will adore this novel.

Reviews / Testimonials

I wish I could give this beautiful book more stars! It is absolutely a Five Star Gold book! It is so well written and historical fiction at its finest!

Goodreads reviewer

Ripped my heart right out of my chest and made me cry so much… My heart ached… Incredible.

The Book Lover’s Boudoir

Wonderful! Wonderful!!!! I absolutely fell in love with this book!!!!!

Goodreads reviewer

Ohhhhh this book… I love this book… I was crying like a baby. That darn plot twist. I WASN’T READY OKAY?

Goodreads reviewer

Unforgettable… Truly amazing and I could not put it down. Make sure to put it on your must-read list this year. An emotional and utterly unputdownable novel.

Breakfast with Rachel

Sign up to receive newsletters